Advanced Search      About Us      Author’s Corner      Request a Catalog      Writer’s Guidelines      FAQs      Contact Us      Home  
Pioneer Drama Service
Contemporary Drama
Christian Plays and Musicals

 Children's Theatre
 Comedies, Skits
 Language Arts
 Monologues, Duets
 Musical Theatre
 Play Anthologies
 Readers Theatre
 Scenes, Auditions
 Speech, Forensics
 Theatre Arts CDs
 Theatre Arts DVDs
 Theatre Games
 Theatre Textbooks

About Us

Meriwether Publishing was founded in 1967 in Chicago, Illinois, by television writer-producer Arthur L. Zapel and relocated to Colorado in 1983, where his sons, A. Mark Zapel and Theodore O. Zapel, assumed the positions of President and Vice-President. Pioneer Drama Service, another family owned and operated Colorado publisher, acquired Meriwether Publishing in 2014. Pioneer Drama is the premier US publisher devoted solely to the educational, children’s, and community theatre markets. Meriwether's fine collection of theatre and forensics textbooks perfectly complements the more than 1200 play scripts published by Pioneer Drama. Learn more at

Meriwether Publishing publishes "how-to" books and instructional videos for stage, television, and film acting students, aspiring theatre professionals, and professional performers. Several Meriwether Publishing theatre arts books are widely accepted as classroom textbooks or supplements for acting and drama classes from middle school to college level throughout the United States and Canada. Other books include anthologies of plays, short scene and monologue books, and reference books on stagecraft, theatre games, directing, costuming, auditioning, mime, and playwriting. Books by Meriwether Publishing are sold worldwide directly or through foreign distributors in the UK, Europe, and Australia.

Meriwether Publishing offers more than 150 book titles, with new titles published each year. The authors represent many of the leading names in educational and professional theatre today. They include: Charna Halpern, Del Close and Kim "Howard" Johnson; John Ahart, Professor Emeritus University of Illinois; Terry John Converse, Professor of Theatre at Washington State University; Roger Ellis, Professor of Theatre Communications at Grand Valley State University; Norman Bert of Texas Tech University; Gerald Lee Ratliff, Professor of the Theatre Arts program at State University of New York, Potsdam; Garry Michael Kluger, professional TV actor-writer; and many more.